the life-competition

It’s coming up to that time of my life, that time when the 10 year school reunions are happening. Since I’ve been to, nine schools across three continents, I’ve got more than one invitation to these reunions. So what’s the issue, I hear you say? Well, I wasn’t exactly what you could term a ‘cool’ teenager (hell, I’m still not cool, I’m just more used to it now). I still have a few friends scattered across the world, one or two from each school I went to, quite often none if I was unhappy there.

Why is this a big deal? Well, with Facebook, I already know who has gotten married, who’s had kids, and who’s unemployed and living in their mothers house. I’m still in contact with the people I still care about, and those I don’t speak to? There’s a reason people fall out of your life.

One of these reunions is in Dubai. Yeah. That’s awkward. The other is only a few kilometers from my house. Am I going? No. I was never that girl, that joiner, that one who missed high school. I was awkward in high school, and those girls who never spoke to me cut me to the quick. And no, I don’t want to go and play the ‘who-has-a-better-life-now’ game. That really doesn’t sound like fun. Instead, I will gather with my friends, the people I’ve cared for during the last ten years. I will help my sick friend to plan her wedding, and I’ll support my newlywed friend who has to live apart from her husband. I’ll focus my time on the amazing friends I have made since I left high school. The people who make my life better every day. What I won’t do is waste precious time and energy on people who have never cared about me, and who I have never cared about. After all, we weren’t friends 10 years ago, why on earth would we be now?

How about you? Did you go to your reunion? Do you have one you’re going to? Or maybe you’re the planner? Does it make a difference if you were at a school for more than two years?

*Sorry for the crappy quality photos, but those are a few screenshots of wedding photos.

One thought on “the life-competition

  1. I was never a joiner either, and never one of the cool kids. I also realised quite early on that people had fallen out of my life for very good reasons. And yet… I went to both my 10 and 20 year reunions. I was glad I went to the 10 because it showed me how shallow many people were [Excerpt: “So Jeanne, what are you doing now?” “Well, I am still living at home but I am saving up to buy a house and love my lecturing job beyond belief”. “OMG – you’re still living at home? Boyfriend?” “Nope. But I am cool with that. So what are you doing these days?”. “I moved to Cape Town!”. “Yeeeees…. and what do you do?” “Well I *live* in Cape Town now! #hairtoss OK well then bye!” “Wait! Wait! Let me tell you about the Masters degree I got…” #tumbleweeds] I also went to my 20th, and I am glad I did because a) people had actually mellowed out a lot and b) it reminded you that you were not doing too badly compared to your peers – NOBODY had actually cured cancer or won the Pullitzer prize – which made me feel less stressed about my sense of underachievement. So yeah, I would never discourage anybody from going, but be under no illusion that it is a pissing contest, not an actual gathering of friends ;o)

Leave a Reply

